Joel M. Dalrymple Memorial Award

This award is dedicated to the memory of Joel McKeith Dalrymple, Ph.D., a brilliant and innovative scientist, scholar, and mentor, who with great humor and sensitivity was unfailingly dedicated to the support and guidance of junior scientists.  The recipients of this award have demonstrated great promise for research by the clear and concise presentation of original data. They follow in the tradition of the numerous students and trainees that Joel encouraged during his prematurely shortened life.  This award is funded by contributions from Joel's many colleagues, trainees, and friends, so that his memory will be perpetuated for the students and fellows who were so dear to his heart.

2018 -   Steven Bryden
2017 -   Megan M. Slough
2016 -   Matthew Simons
2015 -   Veronica Rezelj
2014 -   Paul Wichgers Schreur
2013 -   Estefania Castillo Vargas
2012 -   Megan Ermler
2011 -   Bradley Hollidge
2010 -   Jessica Spengler
2009 -   Dennis Bente
2008 -   Luella Scholtes
2007 -   Natalia Frias-Staheli
2006 -   Claire M. Filone
2005 -   Laura R. DeFlube
2004 -   Anice Lowen
2003 -   Anna E. Whitfield
2002 -   Jason Botton
2001 -   Case Grogan
2000 -   Alemka Markotic
1999 -   Erika Geimonen
1998 -   Monica Borucki
1996 -   Kurt Kamrud
1995 -   Andrew Pekosz

Joel Dalrymple
Joel Dalrymple


Katherine R. Spindler
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
1150 West Medical Center Drive, 5635 Med Sci II
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5620
Telephone: 734-764-9686
FAX: 734-764-3562
Andréa Garcia,
Administrator to the Secretary-Treasurer; Email:


Photo Credit Gallery


Hinh Ly
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
1988 Fitch Ave., 295H AS/VM Bldg.
Saint Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 612-625-3358
Fax: 612-625-0204

ASV 2021

July 17 - 21, 2021

40th Annual Meeting

McGill University, Palais des Congrès de Montréal, Quebec, Canada

Local Hosts:
Dr. Jose Teodoro

Dr. Selena Sagan

Please read the ASV Council's statement on evidence-based science and expert leadership during pandemic threats.

A must listen! Michael Mina joins #TWiV to reveal why frequent and rapid #SARSCoV2 testing is more important than accuracy, how a daily $1 rapid test could control the pandemic, and why group testing works

Load More...
Scroll to Top