Ann Palmenberg Junior Investigator Award

The Ann Palmenberg Junior Investigator Award was established to recognize junior investigators who have made significant contributions to the field of virology and who display exceptional promise. They are named in honor of former ASV President, Dr. Ann Palmenberg, University of Wisconsin-Madison, for her tireless efforts over several decades in supporting and continually improving our society’s annual meeting.

ASV President Andrew Pekosz, Junior Investigator Awardee Zongdi Feng, Ann Palmenberg, Junior Investigator Awardee Marta Gaglia

Award Winners

Seema Lakdawala, Ph.D.
Nicholas Heaton, Ph.D.

Zongdi Feng, Ph.D.
Marta Gaglia, Ph.D.

Jonathan Miner, Ph.D.
Ricardo Rajsbaum, Ph.D.

Siobain Duffy, Ph.D.
Stacy Horner, Ph.D.

Jesse Bloom, Ph.D.
Ken Cadwell, Ph.D.

Nels. C. Elde, Ph.D.
Anice C. Lowen, Ph.D.

Matthew J. Evans, Ph.D.
Andrew B. Ward, Ph.D.

Jan E. Carette, Ph.D.
Michaela U. Gack, Ph.D.
Benjamin tenOever, Ph.D.

Seema Lakdawala Headshot

2020 Ann Palmenberg Junior Investigator Award winner, Seema Lakdawala.

*2020 awardees’ talks will be presented at ASV 2021.

Heaton Photo

2020 Ann Palmenberg Junior Investigator Award winner, Nicholas Heaton.


Katherine R. Spindler
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
1150 West Medical Center Drive, 5635 Med Sci II
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5620
Telephone: 734-764-9686
FAX: 734-764-3562

Andréa Garcia
Administrator to the Secretary-Treasurer; Email:

Photo Credit Gallery


Hinh Ly
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
1988 Fitch Ave., 295H AS/VM Bldg.
Saint Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 612-625-3358
Fax: 612-625-0204

ASV 2021

July 19 - 23, 2021

40th Annual Meeting


Scroll to Top