2021 Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology

Established by the Waksman Foundation for Microbiology, the Selman A. Waksman Award is a prize of $20,000 that is presented to recognize a major advance in the field of microbiology. Additional information, including past recipients, eligibility requirements, and more, can be found at: http://bit.ly/NASWaksman. 

All nominations must be submitted online. Unless otherwise stated, the following materials must be submitted: 

1. A letter from the nominator describing the candidate's work and why he or she should be selected for the award. No more than three (3) pages. 

2. Curriculum vitae. No more than two (2) pages (similar to CVs included with NSF proposals). 

3. Bibliography listing no more than twelve (12) of the nominee's most significant publications. 

4. Suggested citation. A 50-word summary stating why the nominee should be considered for this award. Citation examples» 

5. Two letters of support. Support letters must be written by individuals from institutions outside both the nominator's and the nominee’s institution. 

Nominations accepted through Monday, October 5, 2020.


Katherine R. Spindler
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
1150 West Medical Center Drive, 5635 Med Sci II
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5620
Telephone: 734-764-9686
FAX: 734-764-3562
Email: krspin@umich.edu

Andréa Garcia
Administrator to the Secretary-Treasurer; Email: asv@asv.org

Photo Credit Gallery


Hinh Ly
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
1988 Fitch Ave., 295H AS/VM Bldg.
Saint Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 612-625-3358
Fax: 612-625-0204

ASV 2021

July 19 - 23, 2021

40th Annual Meeting


Scroll to Top